Posted in Uncategorized

Random thoughts by Ames, the beginning.

Hey there!

Anything that begins with random thoughts by Ames will be the part of my blog which has nothing to do with writing. It will be usually be short, may be funny or serious, something which happened to me, or just my random thoughts. I’ll try to do this once a week or so.

Today’s topic will be something which happened at work a few weeks ago.

I really enjoy languages. Besides English, I know some Spanish and a tiny bit of French and Japanese. In Jap, I can read hiragana and katakana. Anyway, to practice, I sometimes respond to others in another language.

A  few weeks ago, I asked someone to pass me something. When he did, I said “arigatou” (thank you) without thinking about it. Without missing a beat, he said “Dōitashimashite” (your welcome)

Surprised, I asked “Nihongo wa hanasemasu ka” (do you speak Japanese?) and he answered “Hai, hanashimasu” (a little)

The funny part was there was several people listening to us. My immediate supervisor goes, wow, whitest people in the shop and they’re the ones speaking Spanish.

Right away I corrected him to say, that was Japanese.

Anyone else speak other languages or have good language stories?

Author:

Hi, I'm Ames! Welcome to my blog. About me Female Favorite foods: Apples, fried chicken and grilled cheese sandwiches. Hobbies: Traveling, reading, learning languages, writing and cooking. Favorite TV show: Big Bang theory. Hopes for this blog: People I don't personally know read my blog.

Leave a Reply

