Posted in Uncategorized

Ames’ random thoughts, I want it and I want it now!

Hey all,

First I have to say this has been an great week. I picked up so many followers this week! Thanks to everyone who decided to check out my blog and keep an eye on what I’m doing =)

This week has been pretty busy for me. It was hard to go back to work after a nice four day weekend. Anyone else want to help me get that to become the cultural norm so we have one once a month? Because I am sorely in need of more of those in my life.

Anyway, last Monday I got a minor gun wound on my hand. Not a gun shot wound (thank goodness) but a beretta bite from not keeping my fingers safely away from back of the 9-mil.  I’m completely alright, I actually finished the course of fire before realizing I was hurt. End result was a bandage and single stitch on my finger.

However, while waiting for it to heal enough to get the stitch to come out, I had a lot of thoughts about instant gratification, mostly because I was becoming sick of waiting.

We as a culture are loosing the ability to be able to wait. I mean come on, who’s gone to sit down restaurant and thought come on!  I could have ordered fast food and finished it before now!

We can’t wait for anything. Next day rush on our online shopping? Please, who has time to wait a full week anymore? I need it now.

Waiting in line? Are you serious? Why can’t they open another register?

I remember my mother telling me the first time she ever got on a webpage, it took over ten minutes to load. Today, anything more then six seconds and we’re getting furious.

I’ve started to notice how this effects us. Watch a TV show from fifty years ago and see how different they are. Today we need some action/suspense/hook in the first minute or else. Back then it would slowly grow and evolve.

It makes me wonder what the world will be like in another fifty years. If anything takes more then a second, will we be able to wait for it?

~Ames

Author:

Hi, I'm Ames! Welcome to my blog. About me Female Favorite foods: Apples, fried chicken and grilled cheese sandwiches. Hobbies: Traveling, reading, learning languages, writing and cooking. Favorite TV show: Big Bang theory. Hopes for this blog: People I don't personally know read my blog.

5 thoughts on “Ames’ random thoughts, I want it and I want it now!

  1. Interesting observation Ames. You are so right. If a page I visit doesn’t load quickly I move on. It would have to be mega important for me to wait around. I guess it’s because life is so busy and I’m finding life as a blogger even busier, since it’s not just about writing your posts and getting your words out there. It’s about understanding how your chosen theme works, understanding the basics of putting a site together, networking with other bloggers blah blah blah.
    Glad to hear you are getting a good supply of visitors – an enviable position to be in (perhaps you can waft some of your good fortune my way 🙂 ). I am not surprised however. Everyone loves a good story and from the one I’ve read so far (about the robot) you are a very good story-teller.
    Keep up the good work.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “Instant gratification” , yeah! It’s the way of the world now.

    I remember dial-up (horrors). Now, if it takes more then 3 seconds for a page to load on my iPhone 6, it’s like, “Hurry up.”

    You’re right about culture and the mind-set for wanting everything right away. As I observe, the root problem is really the dangerous mentality parents, politicians and others instill in people. The mentality is, “You’re special. You’re better then the other kids: smarter, more athletic, more handsome / beautiful, a better musician, better singer etc. And because you’re special, everyone is here to serve your needs. You don’t ever have to wait your turn.”

    The above is bad. But there’s infinitely worse things now. The new attitude is: “I take what I want.”

    Some people are so full of themselves, they aren’t satisfied with simply not waiting their turn, but now resort to taking things away from others. Kids simply walking up to other kids in the hall at school and say, “Gimmie your jacket and shoes, or else.”

    It’s a sad state of affairs today. When I was growing up, we were taught, “Wait your turn. You’re not all that. And even if you are smarter, more athletic etc., wait your turn, because, somewhere, there’s always another person who’s smarter, faster then you.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

