Posted in writing

Hero Villain or somewhere in between

Even if you’re not talking about a superhero movies, characters still seem to divide themselves up into the camps of if they’re good or bad.

I’m going to be straight up, I love a good villain. Heck I would say my favorites are  anti-hero’s, villains, anti-villains and then heroes are at the bottom. I still like heroes,  but they are my least favorite in the line up.

I know, weird right?

First lets go over the the difference between anti-heroes and anti-villains.

Anti-heroes are people who do good and save the world, but are not boy scouts. Maybe they have a fatal flaw like they’re greedy or selfish. Maybe they’re only saving the world because they don’t want to die. They usually lack the usual hero qualities.

An anti-villain is usually someone who does evil, but has a sense of justice or they do good, but the means to achieving are immoral or unjust.

We all should know hero/villain

For the most part, I love and adore anti heroes. They just seem so… human to me.

No one on this earth is pure hero. We all have a dark side, we all make mistakes. Same goes for the other side, usually why in in stories the villain has the one thing they truly love and care about. We are all a mix.

This is probably why I can’t stand Superman (sorry Superman fans.) He’s just… too… perfect. He never does anything wrong. It drives me crazy.

I much rather prefer a character who wants to do right, but have legit problems. They struggle with selfishness, or their lazy, or sometimes just don’t want to do this saving the world thing. It’s exhausting honestly. That seems like a real person, not a perfect cardboard cutout.

Villains are also extremely interesting. I believe no one is born evil and has a conscious (unless they’re a psychopath). So it’s really interesting to see how far people can be twisted into an unrecognizable evil form. How did they get that way? How did they turn off their guilt?  How do they justify it to themselves?

In my opinion, the best villains are the kind who think they’re doing good. They think what they’re doing is for the best. It’s a complete and utter shock to them to learn they’ve been cast as a villain.

Next is anti-villains. These are okay, a villain who isn’t a typical villains. I guess if done right, this could be interesting. But I kind of feel these guys are being wishy-washy.

Last up and least favorite are heroes. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t hate heroes. There are great heroes and superhero movies are great fun to watch. But there’s only so much which can be done with someone who wants to put themselves in danger and save the day.

I think that about it. Agree with me? Or think I got it all wrong? Leave me a comment and let me know.

~Ames

 

Author:

Hi, I'm Ames! Welcome to my blog. About me Female Favorite foods: Apples, fried chicken and grilled cheese sandwiches. Hobbies: Traveling, reading, learning languages, writing and cooking. Favorite TV show: Big Bang theory. Hopes for this blog: People I don't personally know read my blog.

2 thoughts on “Hero Villain or somewhere in between

  1. I agree the 100% uber-clean heroes, Superman, Batman Wonder Woman (in their original, comic magazine format) were one-dimenthnoil cardboard characters. They have no depth or character.

    Indiana Jones and Han Solo are great examples of Anti-Heroes.

    In my book, my male and female leads are true Anti-Heroes. They both do some dark stuff for one reason or another. In many ways, their darkness gives them the drive to accomplish great things. My male lead always has the Anti-Hero makeup. My female lead starts flat, but she develops along the way.

    Captain Kirk is a great Anti-Hero!

    There is an episode of the original Star-Trek where Kirk’s dark personality quality traits are in one body, and his compassionate personality points are in an identical body. He quickly finds his leadership ability and decision making skills are mostly from his dark side. But his compassionate side must be there to temper his darkness and give him balance. Without the darkness, he cannot lead, without the compassion he cannot make rational, reflective decisions.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

