Posted in writing

I wasn’t the one who said those things

I wasn’t the one who said those things

So I was okay

I was free to laugh along

Free to be part of the in crowd

and laugh at the right jokes

even when they were cruel

and designed to break another’s spirit.

I didn’t say them.

They wern’t my idea.

This was the excuse I made for myself.

So I could sleep at night.

So I could tuck those hurt looks away

It wasn’t my words.

I was just an observer.

Now years later, I finally understand.

As I wipe the tears off my child’s face.

I see the hurt I watched inflicted on another.

 

(I don’t have kids, but based on a thought I once heard. Before you say something, imagine someone else saying it to your child. Would you like it?)

~Ames

Author:

Hi, I'm Ames! Welcome to my blog. About me Female Favorite foods: Apples, fried chicken and grilled cheese sandwiches. Hobbies: Traveling, reading, learning languages, writing and cooking. Favorite TV show: Big Bang theory. Hopes for this blog: People I don't personally know read my blog.

2 thoughts on “I wasn’t the one who said those things

  1. The Black Streaks…

    Bullies, Yeah.

    They think “it’s all in fun” or, “It was done to me,” or “I took it, so should they.”

    Bullies don’t care about the hurtful things they do, the humiliation, hazing or embarrassment they heap on others. Their hearts are black as coal.

    The victims gat a black streak of pain on their heart.

    Bullies also are masters of getting others to go along with their evil ways. As you say, it’s easier to laugh, to go along with the crowd, smile at their jokes. But it puts a black streak on the heart of a “go-along” heart.

    Some victims would rather die then face one more day of embarrassment. Others (maybe me) learned how to fight, learned the only way to get rid of a bully is not to love or reason with them, but to catch them alone and beat them back. Bullies are not so big when you catch them alone. And then you get a posse of others also willing to catch bullies alone and beat them. You warn the bullies, “if you tell, next time, we’ll beat you five times harder.”

    The problem is, then an avenger gets their own black streak on their heart. Yes, beating bullies earns someone a black streak too. No no matter what, or who someone is, bully, victim, go-along or avenger, the black streak is there. It takes decades for the streak to fade.

    Donald Trump said, “If someone attacks you, attack them back 16 times harder.”

    There are no easy answers. I support Anti-bullying legislation.

    Like

    1. Very true. I just thought of the person who watching and everyone else wants to see how they act. If they say something, will they become the next person to be bullied? It’s hard to speak up

      Like

Leave a Reply

