Posted in writing

The day I forgot.

It started the day I forgot to charge my phone and it died before lunch.

Without a charger, I was forced to spend the rest of the day without it.

I started noticing things.

The soft white of the clouds which contrast against the sharp blue of the sky.

A whisper of wind though the grass, swaying beneath the weight of its secrets.

The way everyone around me was staring down at a tiny one two screen

Not noticing this world at all.

A dragon could of swooped down from the skies and they wouldn’t of twitched.

The crowds were too busy texting, tweeting, IMing and on facebook to notice.

The way roots from tree’s cracked across the sidewalks.

And the warm glare of the sunshine spread across the soft patch of earth.

Lovers walked down the sidewalk, one hand together and one hand in the internet.

They couldn’t even put it down long enough to spend time together alone.

I can’t help but wonder.

What this world will be like in 30 years,

When people don’t even know what eye contact is.

Or how to talk to someone in real life.

That night I got home and found my charger. Hidden under the bed.

I was about to plug it in,

And then I decided not to.

For one last night, I went outside and sat on the grass.

I looked up at the sky.

And admired the beauty of this world. Not from the view of a two inch screen.

Author:

Hi, I'm Ames! Welcome to my blog. About me Female Favorite foods: Apples, fried chicken and grilled cheese sandwiches. Hobbies: Traveling, reading, learning languages, writing and cooking. Favorite TV show: Big Bang theory. Hopes for this blog: People I don't personally know read my blog.

4 thoughts on “The day I forgot.

  1. Your post reminds me of the day I found my cat MaryGold four years ago. I was going for a walk when I heard a kitten screaming. I looked around me to see if anyone else heard the sound and to my dismay literally EVERYONE else on the sidewalk that day had earphones in their ears and their eyes were glued to a screen. They didn’t even hear the kitten desperately calling for help. I climbed into a drainage ditch, retrieved the tiny bleeding kitten, wrapped her in my shirt, climbed back out of the ditch and, ran back home without a SINGLE person taking any notice. People always get on me because I’m always forgetting my cellphone or it isn’t charged, but that day I’m glad I didn’t bring it with me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

