Posted in writing

Writing advice

As I get deeper into the game of writing, I’m learning more and more about it. Like book three is just as hard to write as book one was.

But I’ve also picked up some advice along the way. Not all of it was good, some was good, some was bad. Some made me want to smash my head against the wall.

Anyway, here’s four pieces of bad advice and four pieces of really good advice.

Bad,

  1. Only write when you’re inspired.
  2. My parent/friend/person I know wrote their book this way, you should do the same
  3. Vampires/wizards/Zombies/whatever are really big, write about them
  4. Write what you know.

First one, if I only wrote when I was inspired, I’d write about two or three times a month. If that. Maybe less. There’s a lot of times I sit down to write and then my brain is like YOU MUST WATCH CAT VIDEOS NOW. But I don’t, (Okay maybe one or two) I sit down and write. I have a writer friend who writes as a hobby and only when she wants to write. If you do this, you’ll write one book about every twenty years. You have to sit down and write, even when you don’t want to. Take a day off here and there of course, but you can’t wait for inspiration. Start writing to show your muse you are serious about writing.

Second, everyone is different. Everyone. Some people will write a book in less then a year and send it out and book. Some people take longer, and it takes them quite a while to get it published. Don’t spend your time comparing yourself to others. It’s exhausting.

Third, don’t follow the market, follow your heart. Even if you’re a fast writer, it takes a while to publish. Like, close to a year. By then the market will have changed. So ignore “what’s popular”, just write the story you can’t get out of your head.

Fourth,  With the except of random spots in the three years, my life has been pretty boring.  If I only wrote about what I knew, then it wouldn’t be very interesting. Take risks, get out of your comfort zone, try new things. The internet is a wonderful place to do research about things you don’t know.

Good writing advice.

  1. Just write, you can fix it later.
  2. Be a reader first
  3. The water can not flow if the faucet isn’t on
  4. Always let someone else read it.

First, I struggled with this big time. I want my writing to come out perfect every time. Sadly this happens about 3% of the time. I’ve rarely extremely pleased with it on the first time.  So I would get depressed and stop writing when it didn’t come out the way I wanted. Until I heard this. Remember the first draft is considered the worst. Just write it and fix it later.

Second, we are all learning. How an you learn how to do it correctly if you’re not reading? You don’t have to read War and Peace, read whatever you want to. Read romance, mystery , Sci-fi, anything. Heck read books which are considered “bad books”. Even those have lessons to teach you.

Third, This is probably my favorite writing advice. You can’t write if your butt is not in a chair and your fingers are not on the keyboard. Even if you just write utter rubbish you hate, it’s making progress.

Fourth, This is pretty important. I’d say let two or three people is probably best.  After staring at the same piece of writing day in and day out, you won’t see the forest for the trees anymore. Let someone else say fresh eyes on it.

Well, there you got it.

Anyone else know any good writing advice?

~Ames

 

Author:

Hi, I'm Ames! Welcome to my blog. About me Female Favorite foods: Apples, fried chicken and grilled cheese sandwiches. Hobbies: Traveling, reading, learning languages, writing and cooking. Favorite TV show: Big Bang theory. Hopes for this blog: People I don't personally know read my blog.

2 thoughts on “Writing advice

  1. 1. 1.Just write, you can fix it later. Agreed! if the idea for a scene is in your head, just get it down. At leaste it’s in your hard drive, on a stick, CD etc. Type, type, type. As stated: let it cool, then go back. Laugh at all your mistakes. then fix them, one by one.

    2.Be a reader first. Yes. We had a writers table at the civic center last spring. We would ask folks, “Are you a writer or a reader?” Most would say, “reader.” Then we asked them to consider writing. Every writer must love to read. Right now I’m reading a classic, written over 100 years ago. There are errors which a modern publisher would not tolerate today. But things change. read it anyway!

    3.The water can not flow if the faucet isn’t on. So True, Type, type, type. I’ve written things, and by the time all the revisions were done, the scene has been changed 75% from the original, but the idea, the spirit of the scene was intact.

    4.Always let someone else read it. Without my partner/collaborator to read for me and bounce ideas off, I would be much less of a writer. Everyone needs a special someone. Not just a beta reader (though that’s okay) , but someone who’s actually invested in your story and characters. Someone who can say, “No, this character of yours would be stronger if it was done like this…) This person has to be someone you trust, one who’ll praise when it’s warranted, and someone who will gently disagree when it’s required.

    ***.Write what you know. This one is actually very useful, PROVIDED the ENTIRE book isn’t just about the one thing. I have a scene in my book where an event takes place. I happen to know this event very well. I used it verbatim. All the members of my writers group praised it as, “So real.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

