Posted in ideas, writing

Progress and inching forward

Hey all!

This week I got a lot done, so I decided to make a post about it and talk about where I am.

My first book (working title Broken glass) is around 65,000 words currently and I’m about half way done editing it. (I really need more hours in the day or less hours at work. Hm) There’s two minor scenes and one major scene which need to be rewritten. Then just in general… it feels short. I would really like to get it up to 70,000 even. But who knows. I’d like to finish editing this by the end of the year.

My second book which is a sequel to the first (working title Secrets, Shards and Shadows) is currently at 94,000 words (holy crap!!!). This last week I had a lot of free time (aka no internet) and got a good 10 chapters done! I still have a long way to go (Beta Reader Texaswordsmith (https://leftturnwriteturn.wordpress.com/) tells me it’s still wordy, so I need to do more cutting. I also have five, count um, five scenes which need to be re-written. One is pretty short, two are full chapters. I’d also to finish editing by the end of the year.

Finally, my third book, which is NOT related to the first two in anyway. (working title I don’t know if I’m okay) Is sitting right around 35,000 words. Due to the second half being a much bigger challenge for me then the first, I’m writing it first. It’s starting to mesh together and not be just a bunch of random scenes. I write all the good stuff I want tot first and then gel it together as I go. I’d like to finish this by the end of March/beginning of April if possible. It will then rest a while while I edit one/two and after a break, get started on four.

Future projects- Books one/two are part of a series. I plan to write the third (in series) one after I finish IDKIIO. After that, I have a fantasy idea I want to work on. Plus TexasWS and I have been tossing around the idea of doing a book collab for a while. We’re stuck on a plot point, but I hope we finish sketching out the plot and get that started.

2016 is going to be a great year!!!!! So much writing to do and so little time to do it. =)

Other then that, it’s been a really good week for me. I got two new T-shirts. One says “I mourn the death of Fictional characters” (except my own of course). The other is a Ravenclaw shirt which says Ravenclaw, if you’ve a ready mind where those of wit and learning, will always find their kind. So much win!

Finally, got spoiled last weekend with a trip to Barnes and Noble. Seriously, I love that bookstore and try to support it as much as I can.

Some of my best childhood memories were going to the one in my hometown and curling up with a good book. It was near the end of the evening when I was so deep into it, I couldn’t leave without my book. They’re a company who’s struggling because books are going out of style.

I beg fellow friends. Please never let reading and books go out of style.

From this trip, I came away with five new books to read.

Sense and sensibility by Jane Austin.

To Kill a Mockingbird (with a fancy cover)

Dark places, along with Sharp Objects. Both by Gillian Flynn. “Gone Girl” was so good, I had to see what else she’s written.

Finally (don’t judge) Star Wars Psychology. Dark side of the mind. I’m such a nerd, it hurts.

That’s about it for me. Got more writing to do. Hope all are having a good week. Anyone read anything new?

~Ames

Author:

Hi, I'm Ames! Welcome to my blog. About me Female Favorite foods: Apples, fried chicken and grilled cheese sandwiches. Hobbies: Traveling, reading, learning languages, writing and cooking. Favorite TV show: Big Bang theory. Hopes for this blog: People I don't personally know read my blog.

2 thoughts on “Progress and inching forward

Leave a Reply

