Posted in info, Reading, writing

Literary magazines! Oh my!

Okay, I’ll be honest. A big part of the reason why I started this blog is because I want to be published. But I’ve heard sometimes new authors have trouble getting published because they haven’t published anything yet (Irony, no?)

So it was recommended to me to start a blog, so you can show publishing houses your trying to build a presence online and people will read what you write. Seems simple yes?

Then this last week I met another fellow author. It’s always fun to meet other wordsmiths. Within minutes of the two of you meeting, it’s like you’ve known them forever. They ask about your writing, you ask about theirs. You talk and talk and talk about it. So much fun!

Anyway, this guy, unlike me, is not trying to get a novel published. He writes more as a hobby and he’s into short stories. He was telling me how it’s just a hobby because you make very little (If any) money from it and it’s next to impossible to make a living. You’d seriously have to be writing AND selling over 150 short stories a week!

But he did tell me something interesting. Selling a few short stories to literary magazines can be a way to build up your credits. This way, when you go to query a novel, instead of having a blank space where your bio would go, you can mention you’ve already been published in these literary magazines.

I thought that was a good idea. So probably not this week (Ugg, day job) but hopefully in the next few months give this a try. The (very little) money made, if any would be a nice bonus, but I’m more interested in this for the credit.

Not to mention, I’ll finally be able to say I’m a published Author ;3

Here’s to more editing of the books, the short stories and of course writing the new ones. I’m going to be kept very busy =)

Who knows, maybe in a few months, I’ll have an update.

~Ames

Author:

Hi, I'm Ames! Welcome to my blog. About me Female Favorite foods: Apples, fried chicken and grilled cheese sandwiches. Hobbies: Traveling, reading, learning languages, writing and cooking. Favorite TV show: Big Bang theory. Hopes for this blog: People I don't personally know read my blog.

2 thoughts on “Literary magazines! Oh my!

  1. Yes, it’s a Vicious circle. Not published? Oh you need to be published! How can I get published if you won’t publish me? Get published and we’ll talk.

    *burn *

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

