Posted in writing

In Memory of Harper Lee.

On Friday, February 19th, Nelle Harper Lee passed away in her sleep. As a long time fan of her books and her legacy, it’s extremely sad to hear of her passing.

Almost everyone has heard of her daring novel, To Kill A Mockingbird. Over half a century after it’s been published, and we’re still reading it. I was required to read this book in high school, not once but twice. It’s a classic, with its rich themes, symbols and deep meanings.

Harper Lee published this book during the height of the 1960’s  and the civil rights movement. One can only imagine what it must of been like for her to publish this book, as a woman, during that time era.

But she did. She wasn’t afraid to comment on the ways of the world, to show us right and wrong from the eyes of a child.

As a writer, I can only hope I’ll be as brave as her. While I understand my own work will probably never get recognized to the point hers was, I hope it makes just as much an impact.

Dare to be like her. Dare to publish the difficult stuff no one else would. Dare to change the world.

Harper Lee, you shall be missed.

“I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It’s when you know you’re licked before you begin, but you begin anyway and see it through no matter what.
Atticus Finch, Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird.”

Author:

Hi, I'm Ames! Welcome to my blog. About me Female Favorite foods: Apples, fried chicken and grilled cheese sandwiches. Hobbies: Traveling, reading, learning languages, writing and cooking. Favorite TV show: Big Bang theory. Hopes for this blog: People I don't personally know read my blog.

3 thoughts on “In Memory of Harper Lee.

  1. I’m sorry to hear Harper Lee has passed away. I did not know that. The last I heard and I thought it was last year, a new book was being published by her. Don’t recall the title.
    To Kill a Mocking Bird is a timeless classic. Like you, I too hope my words and writing will have a significant impact upon others even if I never become a celebrity author!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

