Posted in ideas, writing

Motivation

Sometimes, the hardest part about being a writer is finding the motivation to actually do it.

Because, unless you’re a lucky person, you probably have a day job. And maybe you’re married and have kids. Plus a house to clean and bills to pay and omg, it’s hard to sit down and write at the end of the day.

I will admit, it’s harder some day then others. Some days, I’m like; lets do it! Write all the books! Other days, I have to drag myself to the computer and force myself to write.

Why? Because I’ll be honest, I’m not wild about my day job. It’s a stepping stone, one which I plan on using to get to where I want.

When I have long, hard, days at work, I use it as motivation to get some writing done. Want to get away from this place? Better spend a few hours at the keyboard.

But I know other people aren’t always like this

I have a writer friend who writes as a hobby, she’s not as serious as I am. But she only writes when she’s motivated to write, which isn’t very much. Maybe a few times a year, if that.

I can partly understand this, she isn’t writing for a career. She’s only doing this as a hobby and something to do for fun. However, I see things differently from her.

Write when the words are coming one hundred a minute and write when only one or two words come out. Start writing when you want to and don’t want to. Find the time which works for you and sit down and write. Convince the muse you are going to sit there until something comes out.

Train the muse to work at the same time each day and you’ll be on your way to getting something finished =)

Don’t wait for motivation, you’ll be like my friend. She’s great, she really is, but it’s going to be ten plus years until she gets something finished. Which is okay, since she isn’t trying to published for anyone else. But still, that’s a long time.

Start writing, no matter what. The water does not flow until the faucet is turned on“-Lousis L’amour,

Happy writing =) What motivates you to sit down and pound at the keyboard?

~Ames

 

Author:

Hi, I'm Ames! Welcome to my blog. About me Female Favorite foods: Apples, fried chicken and grilled cheese sandwiches. Hobbies: Traveling, reading, learning languages, writing and cooking. Favorite TV show: Big Bang theory. Hopes for this blog: People I don't personally know read my blog.

Leave a Reply

