Posted in writing

(writing) Food for thought.

I heard something interesting about being a published author last weekend. I don’t know how true it is or where they got the information from. But I still wanted to talk about it.

Someone (a published author who’s won awards and one book is being made into a movie) said there’s only 400 authors in the united states who are making a living off their books.

Wow.

Only 400?

Note, this isn’t authors who are getting rich, these are people who can completely support themselves from their written words.

A little bit discouraging, to say the least.

Of course, I have no idea where he got his information from, or if this is correct or not. Even if this information, I’d bet it’s not too far off. I’ve heard for years, that stories like Jo Rowling and Stephen King’s are extremely rare. Those are just the ones we heard about. For every famous person, there’s thousands of authors who just do so-so.

So is it worth it? Is it worth working so hard just to do okay and not even be able to support yourself?

I’d say yes. Of course, I’m not published yet, but the intense joy I get from writing is enough for me.

Don’t let it get you down =) Write your book and tell your stories. It might not be for fame and riches, but do it for joy and the love of language. Make your characters so rich, they almost jump off the page. Be proud of the fact you had the discipline to write, edit and publish a while freaking book. How many people actually do that?

Also, do it so the numbers become 401 ;3

Does anyone else know anything about this topic? I’m kinda curious.

Author:

Hi, I'm Ames! Welcome to my blog. About me Female Favorite foods: Apples, fried chicken and grilled cheese sandwiches. Hobbies: Traveling, reading, learning languages, writing and cooking. Favorite TV show: Big Bang theory. Hopes for this blog: People I don't personally know read my blog.

Leave a Reply

