Posted in ideas, writing

Can we reuse stories?

Hey there!

This is a question I’ve heard a lot about and really want to talk about. This blog of course is about me expressing my opinion about writing and such, but I really want to hear yours. If you have something to add, please do not be shy.

Can stories be reused?

In my opinion, I believe the answer is yes, if done carefully and correctly.

An idea can not be copyrighted. The story its self can be, you can’t take a story word-for-word, slap your name on it and say it’s yours. That’s stealing.

But is it stealing to reuse an idea?

Romeo and Juliet is an extremely famous love story about teenage lovers from rival families. This idea has been used so many times. No one has resold the original play, but the idea comes back again and again. High School Musical is about teenage loves from rival cliques, West Side Story does the same. The plot, setting, characters and significant details are different, but when it boils down to it, the basic plot is the same.

Now, one can argue about how good and bad these original ideas are (*coughcough HighschoolMusical*) but I don’t think it’s stealing.

HSM and WSS are very different, both from each other and R&J. Everything from tone to how the story is told, to end goals and how the problem works it’s self out. Each one is different enough to have their own story to tell.

Of course, I personally believe the R&J story is overdone and needs to be put to rest, but of course, just my opinion. Some people love it and really can’t get enough.

What do you think? If several aspects of the plot and such are changed to make the story unique, is it okay to borrow and reuse ideas? What if the ideas isn’t originally yours?

Thanks for reading my blog =)

~Ames

Author:

Hi, I'm Ames! Welcome to my blog. About me Female Favorite foods: Apples, fried chicken and grilled cheese sandwiches. Hobbies: Traveling, reading, learning languages, writing and cooking. Favorite TV show: Big Bang theory. Hopes for this blog: People I don't personally know read my blog.

Leave a Reply

