Posted in ideas, writing

I’d like to see more..

Since the genre I want to write for is Young adult, I try to read a lot of young adult. Good books though (I’m looking at you Twilight). There’s just something about YA which I really love.

To me, it’s freedom. Being a teenager is a difficult time and I feel like it’s a perfect/horrible (depending on how you look at it) time for something terrible to go wrong and for a huge story to happen. You’re so close to adulthood and yet not quite there.

While reading, I noticed a lot of stuff (Love triangles! ) and this is a list of what I’d like to see more in YA adult novels. Heck, novels of any kind.

I’d like to see more diversity.

This is something which has been slowly improving, but I still think it could be better. And I don’t mean just black, lets see a lot more people of color in novels! Lets see Asian and Hispanic as well. And yes, this is getting better. But no, throwing one POC into a novel with a cast of over 20 more white people is not diverse.

The next one, is I’ve seen a lot of books with a female lead and almost the entire rest of the cast is male. I’d like to see that flipped. I’d really like to see more male leads and a lot more females in the supporting cast.

I will admit, I really hate love-triangles. Honestly, I hate love interests as well. Especially in novels where the stakes are life or death. Come on, lets see some characters who are not motivated by love and don’t want to stop and argue about why didn’t you call me in the middle of saving the world.

There has got to be some characters out there who think it would be nice to fall in love, but they aren’t out there looking for it!

Mental and physical illness. I’d love love love to see more mental illness. It’s a topic which is near and dear to my heart. Sick-lit got really popular a few years ago, but there is more to to then cancer. Let’s see what other things plague humanity.

And better yet, please no more novels about guy who meets sick girl and who has to save her. Could we see guys who are sick? Guy’s who deal with depression and other conditions? What about when they hit rock bottom? How do they deal with it?

I’d also personally really like to see more about different kinds of families. Divorced families, step-parents, gay parents, single parents. There’s so much more to family then the nuclear family. Lets explore that more!

Anyway, that’s all I can think of for now. If you have anything to add, please let me know. I’d love to hear it =)

~Ames

 

Author:

Hi, I'm Ames! Welcome to my blog. About me Female Favorite foods: Apples, fried chicken and grilled cheese sandwiches. Hobbies: Traveling, reading, learning languages, writing and cooking. Favorite TV show: Big Bang theory. Hopes for this blog: People I don't personally know read my blog.

Leave a Reply

