Posted in writing

Writing the hard stuff.

Usually, as long as I write during my time (I usually write just before I go to bed) I can meet my daily quota. It took some training and discipline, but I’ve finally gotten into a solid writing habit.

However, there are scenes which are just plain hard for me to write. It’s almost like these certain scenes gave me writer’s block, which I’m usually pretty good with taking care of.

For instance, in my second book, I had a torture scene. This was difficult because I didn’t want to write it gory, but on the other hand, I wanted to make it clear what was going on. When important questions weren’t being answered, they started to slice his fingers tips off.

It was hard. I’m a very empathetic person and I could really feel the pain. It took several rounds of editing and revising before I was happy with the scene.

“The man in charge” raises the weapon to his chest level and I watch the boy’s eyes go wide as he realizes exactly what is about to happen to him.
A howl of pain-loud enough to make the windows shake- as the blade slices through flesh and bone. It doesn’t seem to faze either of them. The guard releases his bloody hand and the boy clutches it against his chest. Steaks of red blood run down his arm.
There is a beat of silence and then “the man in charge” kneels on the floor next to him, somehow holding a towel. He presses it against the kid’s hand, to stop the wild flow of blood. The gesture is almost tender.
“Son,” He says gently. “Tell me.”
To his credit, the boy just shakes his head, silent tears running down his face. It’s impressive at how long this kid is managing to withhold information. But I also know “the man in charge”, he won’t stop until he gets what he wants. Piece by piece, he’ll tear this kid apart, until he gets the information he so desperately craves.
The light changes in “the man in charge’s” eyes, as he stares down at him. “Alright.”
His guard is instantly on top of the kid again and yanks out his other hand. Ready.
“The man in charge” raises the bloody blade again.

In my third book (very different from the last one) I was writing about a kid who had a lot of suicidal thoughts. This was a very dark and miserable place. I had to mentally get myself there so I could write it. If I was in a good mood, I’d have to listen to sad music and read emo poetry to get into that mindset.

And I’m usually an extremely happy person! Being so down and miserable was awful.

It was there, I would write whole chapters while sobbing my eyes out. I don’t think I’ve ever cried so much.

Finally, my current project, book 4, I have several death scenes to write. I’m still pretty early in this project, it’s only been a few weeks. The first one, is quite early in the book and so far, I’ve been avoiding it. I’ve written a few chapters after, cuz I just don’t want to write it!

And then the next will be in the middle and man, that one is going to really hard. I don’t know how I’m going to manage.

These are the difficult scenes for me. What’s hard for you guys to write?

~Ames

Author:

Hi, I'm Ames! Welcome to my blog. About me Female Favorite foods: Apples, fried chicken and grilled cheese sandwiches. Hobbies: Traveling, reading, learning languages, writing and cooking. Favorite TV show: Big Bang theory. Hopes for this blog: People I don't personally know read my blog.

Leave a Reply

