Posted in ideas, writing

Marching on through death.

I won’t sugarcoat it, I’m having a really rough day.

Today, about 3:10 pm Eastern time, right after I got home from work, I received a voicemail saying my beta reader, writing-partner, mentor and all around great friend texaswordsmith, aka, Mark, or “interested author” from this post.

Ask Juliette: Just An Old Fashioned Vampire Story

Sadly died on Saturday.

It was an extreme shock. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to forgot exactly where I was and what I was doing when I got the news.

He commented on almost all of my blog posts, was my first follower and read all my books, including the first nine chapters I’ve written for my 4th one. He was a great man who really helped improve my writing. There was so much he taught me, I couldn’t even begin to start.

In fact, years ago, when I said I wanted to be an author, he said he’d read anything and he wanted an autographed copy.

I’m really upset that he won’t get to see any of my progress now..

From 2008 to 2015, he wrote a book of his own, called Revenge of the Vampires. As you might guess, it’s about… vampires! Old fashion vamps, none of this sparkly crap. For the last year, he was editing and polishing it up. He spent the last five months trying to get it published traditionally.

While right now I’m in too much grief to do much, I know I don’t want his work to get forgotten in a drawer somewhere. He spent too much time on it and loved writing too much.

I asked his wife’s permission and she’s given me her complete blessing. Once I’m doing a bit better, I’m going to self publish it. Even if only five people read it, I still think he’d be happy to know all his hard work has paid off.

So keep your eyes pealed in the next few months. And if you’d do me an extremely huge favor and read it when it does, I’d appreciate it.

Mark lived too full a life to be forgotten.

Thanks

~Ames

Author:

Hi, I'm Ames! Welcome to my blog. About me Female Favorite foods: Apples, fried chicken and grilled cheese sandwiches. Hobbies: Traveling, reading, learning languages, writing and cooking. Favorite TV show: Big Bang theory. Hopes for this blog: People I don't personally know read my blog.

Leave a Reply

