Posted in publishing, writing

New frustrations.

Well, I knew something was going to go wrong.

So if you haven’t read any of my older blog posts, my good friend and beta reader passed away. He had written a book and with his wife’s permission, I’m going to self publish it for him.

I received the manuscript last weekend and knew right away, something was wrong.

In January, I was able to visit the two of them for a few days. During that time, we spent about three hours editing a certain section of his novel. While I don’t remember everything we did, I do remember the part and a few of the changes.

When I received the document on Sunday, it didn’t have any of those changes. After another look through, I found several errors and other changes that I knew he made were not present.

So, in other words, this version is about six months old. The story is still there, but almost all of his editing and most recent changes are gone.

Excuse me while I hit my head against the wall. Repeatedly.

I guess it could be worse. At least the story is there. But since I don’t live in the same state as his wife, I can’t look through his computer. She looked and said there was files upon files and sent me what she could.

Anyway, for now, I’m just going to assume the latest version is gone forever and will just edit what I have.

Yaaaaaaaaaaay *whacked*

I know, it sounds like I hate editing. I don’t hate it, honestly. I do tons and tons and tons of editing. I think I just get frustrated when I’ve read and reread and reread a piece again and again. And then someone else comes in and finds simple, basic mistakes. It leaves me wondering how on earth I forgot to put end quotation marks or a period of the end of a sentence.

I know, after a while you don’t see the forest for the trees.  That’s why it’s a good idea to always take good long breaks.

Editing still frustrates me.

Anyway, in addition to working on his novel, I’m still working on all of mine. I’m trying not to overwhelm myself by taking on too much all at once. My third one, the one I finished the rough draft of a few months ago is the one I’m focusing on the most. I want to spent this summer editing and polishing it up so I can start sending our query letters in the fall.

We’ll see how that goes.

Anyway, gotta get back to it. These novels won’t edit themselves.

… Or will they??? *gives my work the shifty eye.*

I can dream.

~Ames

 

Author:

Hi, I'm Ames! Welcome to my blog. About me Female Favorite foods: Apples, fried chicken and grilled cheese sandwiches. Hobbies: Traveling, reading, learning languages, writing and cooking. Favorite TV show: Big Bang theory. Hopes for this blog: People I don't personally know read my blog.

Leave a Reply

