Posted in Uncategorized

Just a bit.

I wanted to write this. A few little bits about myself. Some are actually questions I’ve gotten and others are just stuff I’m throwing in there

Where did the nickname Ames come from?

A lot time ago, I was a really big fan of Sonic The Hedgehog. I personally think the newer version is kinda eh (I did watch a few episodes of Sonic boom just to see what it was about. It was an odd mix up of really good and really bad.) But long long time ago, I had the game Sonic adventure 2 battle .  I played that game to death. Loved it. Anyway, as a kid, I was a huge fan of Amy Rose from the franchise and online, I went by Amy. My friends then changed it to Ames.

What do you like to do when your not writing/blogging?

I’ll assume this means when I’m not asleep or at my day job. I really enjoy traveling, I have another blog just for this purpose. I’m also a huge fan of long walks and spending time at the beach. Writing however, is the biggest hobby I have.

What is your day job?

I’m a computer tech. It’s not my favorite thing. I’m alright at it, but it’s not something I want to do as a career. Computers are too temperamental and technology moves at such a fast pace. Almost all the training I had four years ago will be obsolete in the next five to ten years. And I don’t want to spend a career re-learning things all the time. This is why I’m trying to get published.

How’d you get into writing?

I’ve always been a storyteller. I remember back when I was really young, coming up with stories and ideas and characters. Honestly, now, I can’t not write. My characters won’t leave me alone!

Leeeeets see, few other things

I’m a massive fan of Lord Of The Rings, Star trek, Harry Potter and Game of Thrones. I have a few references to GoT and HP in my books.

I’m a comedian at heart, but most of my books are very dark and have very serious topics and themes. This is because I find lighthearted stuff rather boring to write about. I do fit in little bits of humor here and there though.

The next book I’m going to write (Book 5) which I hope to start in the fall, will be a fantasy about a boy who has elemental powers of fire and darkness.

I write all different genres.

Book one -It’s Contemporary and is a mystery/suspense

Book two (sequel)-Is also Contemporary with a lot of suspense.

Book three- Is contemporary medical story about mental illness.

Book four (which I’m in the middle of writing, is the sequel to book two) is contemporary suspense? ha ha (One, two and four are a trilogy)

Book five- Will be a fantasy

Book six-Will be a contemporary medical story.

I have several ideas for the next few books in my head. After 6, I’m might do a prequel to the trilogy, I also have plans for a book set historical fiction set in Victorian, London and  a sci-fi book which involves multiple universes.

I’m assuming someone has this question, so I’ll answer it.

Why did you start writing a trilogy and then in the middle, write a completely different unrelated book?

I’m so glad you asked~.

So in late 2014, I sat down to write my first book. At the time, I had no idea it was going to be so huge. As I neared the end, I realized I wasn’t even close to being done with this story. So I planned out a trilogy (I wanted it to be a four book series, because I hate the traditional three, but I couldn’t find a way to stretch it out).

Anyway,October of 2015. I finish book two. I’m starting some heavy editing on book one when I learn something. It’s very hard for a new author to sell a book series.

I didn’t want to change my series at all. Everything is planned out and ready to go. So I put the trilogy aside (for a time)and wrote a book which had nothing to do with it. It’s about a teenage boy who has mental illness. This is the one I’m planning on getting published first.

This is also why I’ve written three books and haven’t published anything. I finished the rough draft of that in April and I’m currently editing and revising it (when I’m not working on Mark’s book) and I hope to start querying this fall.

I have dyslexia (Yay, irony!)

I hate spicy food and love steak.

And on average, I read about an hour a night. Currently, I’m reading two of Judy Bloom’s adult books, along with Storm of Swords. I just finished reading The Girl on the Train and want to read Six of Crows and An Ember in The Ashes Next.

Have a good one!

~Ames

 

Author:

Hi, I'm Ames! Welcome to my blog. About me Female Favorite foods: Apples, fried chicken and grilled cheese sandwiches. Hobbies: Traveling, reading, learning languages, writing and cooking. Favorite TV show: Big Bang theory. Hopes for this blog: People I don't personally know read my blog.

2 thoughts on “Just a bit.

Leave a Reply

