Posted in Reading

Book Review for Open Minds

I’m warning you right now, I was not a fan of this book. If you are a huge fan, great but you might not want to read this.

Let’s get into it.

Open Minds is the first book of The Mindjack Saga by Susan Kaye Quinn.

Some spoilers ahead.

The story is about a girl named Kira who lives in a futurist world where everyone starts to read minds around when they hit puberty. However, poor Kira is a zero, aka, she can’t read minds. Things are pretty sucky for her. No one trusts her, her family is disappointed and such. But she gets by, with her best friend Raf and everything.

Until she meets a the mysterious bad boy Simon shows up and tells her something important.

She’s not a zero, she’s a mindjacker. One of an elite few who can control other people’s minds. Things then get crazy as a new love triangle heats up, the government gets involved and everything goes south.

Let’s start with what I did like about this book.

The idea of a society of mind readers and all it’s lore is interesting, I just wish it had been explored and explained more. I mean, everyone can suddenly read your mind?

I don’t know about you, but I sometimes think thoughts I don’t want others to know just about all the time. Because they’re dirty, private, or just plain mean. Now imagine these poor kids who go from regular to bam, reading minds while they’re teenagers. But this is just glossed over, no real mention of it.

Also, the writing is decent. I wouldn’t say it’s excellent, but by no means bad.

Alright, let’s talk about what I didn’t like. It’s a lot.

First, this really pisses me off. Kira is a special snowflake character.

(Spoilers)

(Spoilers)

(Spoilers)

It’s reveled about half way through the book that’s she’s not only part of this elite special group of mindjackers, she has an added bonus, she’s super super special rare power.

No one can penetrate or take control of her mind.

Not kidding, this is the part where I put the book down and didn’t pick it back up for weeks.

I loathe special snowflakes. It’s probably one of my biggest pet peeves in fiction. It was semi passable when she was revealed to be a jacker, because she wasn’t the only one. At one part in the book, she meets a whole group of them. But when she’s revealed to be the extra special person, I was furious.

To all writers: For the love, please stop making your character’s special and unique. It drives me insane.

I will say it was explained why she was so extremely special, but it didn’t change my mind. I did not like this character. And it’s bad when you dislike the main character in a book.

Next, none of the characters were really memorable. There’s a whole bunch of side characters I can’t remember a thing about. Heck, most of the second part of the story, I don’t remember much. It just… ugg.

Finally, the love triangle.

When love triangles first started, I liked them. But now, it’s been over a decade and I’m sick of them. Especially the two guys fighting over a girl thing. It’s old and cliche. Your editor should smack you multiple times if you do this.

Also, it’s full of even more cliches!

In this corner, we have Kira’s best childhood friend, Raf. He’s Portuguese, but only for the sake of having diversity in the story.

And in this corner, we have new bad boy Simon. He’s rebellious, breaks rules, shows up and mentors Kira with her newfound powers, smirks all the time and probably has a heart of gold.

Groan.

To make things even more confusing, the blurb of the freaking book says Kira has been secretly been in love with Raf for a while. The weird thing is, she never shows it! He acts more like he’s been in love with her and she’s oblivious. She then is off to make out with Simon.

Besides special snowflakes, I also dislike the whole friends since we were kids, and I’m secretly in love, but couldn’t say anything until I saw you making out with another person.

Anyway, over all I get this book 3.8 out of ten. By no means is this the worst book I’ve ever read, but it didn’t hold my attention, the story was forgettable (literally) and I disliked the characters.

There’s two more of these books in this trilogy, and I’ve been told they’re better, but I really don’t care. I will not be going back to this universe.

A shame, since the hook for this could of been interesting.

So this has been two books I didn’t give glowing reviews to. Next, I’ll try to do ones I actually enjoyed.

If you read this book, what did you think? Am I too harsh? Let me know.

~Ames

Author:

Hi, I'm Ames! Welcome to my blog. About me Female Favorite foods: Apples, fried chicken and grilled cheese sandwiches. Hobbies: Traveling, reading, learning languages, writing and cooking. Favorite TV show: Big Bang theory. Hopes for this blog: People I don't personally know read my blog.

Leave a Reply

