Posted in Reading, writing

Confusing Grammar rules?

It’s been a busy week. Lot of stuff going on. Work like always. I’ve also been keeping up on my one page a day challenge. Almost done!

There’s also a cockroach who decided to move into my bathroom, but for some reason, only shows up between four am and five am. My roommate and I have seen him three times, but only during this time frame. I’m not sure if he can tell time or not… weird bug.

Anyway, when I’m not trying to hunt him down, I’ve been editing a lot. Mostly line by line editing, looking for grammar and small little stuff.

So, I’m pretty big on grammar. I personally think people who talk online with poor grammar are hurting themselves. wen i reed a post like dis i think its been writen by a 8 yearold.

Honestly. It looks really bad.

However, sometimes I find conflicting advice. So I decided to make a post about it and I want to hear what my fellow writers have to say about this. Even if you’re not a writer, I’d like to hear your thoughts =)

Okay, so I have a character named Cyrus.

If I was to write in my story that one of my character was about to pick up his phone. Is it written like this;

She picked up Cyrus’ phone.

Or;

She picked up Cyrus’s phone.

Because I’ve seen it both ways and I’ve heard it argued each way. When a character’s name ends in an “s” like his does, when talking about possession, do you add another s, or just put the apostrophe?

I’m really curious to hear what you guys have to say about this, because I’m scratching my head. I was always taught to always add a second s. But then, I saw online where it’s been argued each way. Heck, I’ve even seen published author’s who do it both ways.

What do you guys think?

I’m going to go back to trying to find and get that bug out.

~Ames

 

Author:

Hi, I'm Ames! Welcome to my blog. About me Female Favorite foods: Apples, fried chicken and grilled cheese sandwiches. Hobbies: Traveling, reading, learning languages, writing and cooking. Favorite TV show: Big Bang theory. Hopes for this blog: People I don't personally know read my blog.

3 thoughts on “Confusing Grammar rules?

  1. Both ways are awful. Don’t end a character’s name with ‘S’.
    Ah, but seriously, I accept it either way. When I say it out loud, I have the extra ‘S’ in there, so I’d probably go with that. Even if the other way looks better.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

