Posted in ideas, publishing, writing

Query letters.

 

Hello all!

This might be my last post for a little while. While I am not in the direct path of hurricane Matthew, we are expecting to get a lot of wind and rain, starting soon. Hopefully, it won’t be too bad, but we are prepared just in case.

Anyway, recently I’ve been working on a query letter for the novel I want to publish first. I’m not ready to start sending out querys, but I’ve been preparing one all the same.

For me, query letters aren’t that hard (although Synopsis terrify me). I’ve spent a lot of time on query shark (Highly recommend) and the rules seem pretty straight forward. There’s a lot of little hints and such, but here are the main things.

One page in length

Introduce the main character and the problems they face.

Do not talk about more then the first act of the book.

So taking all of these into consideration, I’ve compiled a letter.

Dear _________

Casimer Sutten has known for a long time there’s something wrong with him, even if he can’t quite pinpoint exactly what.

He’s had anxiety attacks since he was a child.

Then off and on again depression started a few years ago when his step-mother died.

Now intrusive and dangerous thoughts are really starting to frighten him. He can’t get them out of his head, no matter how hard he tries.

There’s one thing he’s sure of, high school is about blending in, not standing out. If there’s something wrong with him, he’ll be labeled a freak and an outcast.

Casimer’s doing his best to simply finish his senior year. By some miracle, he might have a girlfriend, but not if Samantha learns about the major problems he’s trying to hide.

Family issues at home with his new step-mother are complicating his situation. Casimer is becoming desperate and feels alone. Sometimes, he wonders if living like this is worth the trouble.

I DON’T KNOW IF I’M OKAY (working title) is a multiple point of view novel told from both Samantha’s and Casimer’s Perspective. It is complete at XXX words and available in part or in full, upon request.

Thank you very much for your time and consideration.

Sincerely,

~~~~~

What do you guys think?

Author:

Hi, I'm Ames! Welcome to my blog. About me Female Favorite foods: Apples, fried chicken and grilled cheese sandwiches. Hobbies: Traveling, reading, learning languages, writing and cooking. Favorite TV show: Big Bang theory. Hopes for this blog: People I don't personally know read my blog.

Leave a Reply

