Posted in ideas, info, writing

The Ernest Hemingway house

Hello all!

From my last post, I said I was bunking down for Hurricane Matthew. Because I wasn’t on the coast, I didn’t get hit as hard as some did and am completely okay. Let the posts continue!

Anyway, as some people know, I also have a travel blog, where I  (obviously) blog about the places I’ve gone and what I’ve seen. This post is a little bit of a crossover between the two.

About a month ago, I had family come to visit me and we went down to Key West. While I was there, I went to the Ernest Hemingway home and omg, it was incredible. I enjoyed it so much, I just had to share.

This is the entrance to the house, from across the street.

entrance.jpg

Ernest Hemingway was an American novelist who wrote ten novels, ten short story collections and five non-fiction works. Many of these are considered classics. He bought this house in the 1930’s. Several of his novels were written here.

sobeautiful.jpg

There was just something completely magical about being here. As a writer and a reader, I really admire Hemingway’s work. He wrote with deep and powerful love of the English language and still holds a record for best debut novel. Almost 100 years after it’s publication.

My favorite part of the entire thing was his private writing studio. It’s not connected to the house, it’s like a very small apartment in the backyard. You go up some stairs to get to it. They don’t let you inside, as it’s exactly the same as the way he left it, the last time he was in Key West

inside.jpg

You can’t see it, but I’m holding the camera between bars on the door that keep everyone out. But just a beautiful, lovely room. And yes, one of the cats is taking a little nap. Don’t blame him at all, it was a very hot afternoon.

Around the garden’s, there’s a lot of signs about Hemingway and the different parts of the mansion.

thissign.jpg

 

firstcat.jpg

Hemingway loved cats. There was 54 cats on the premise and all the descendant of his first cat, Snowball. They are everywhere, some are friendly, some are not.

We probably spent a little over an hour seeing everywhere. If I had had my way, I probably would have wanted to bring my laptop along with me and tried to get inspired to write a bit while there. Sadly, it was too hot and we had other things to do. A shame.

lookinfdown.jpg

This is a view from the balcony in the front, looking down. In my pictures, it look like there aren’t a lot of people there, but there was actually a good number. That’s why I didn’t get any pictures of the inside of the house. It was so crowded, I couldn’t get any good pictures.

Here’s his pool in the backyard. It’s said he put one penny down in the tile around it as “His last cent” went into it. I looked, but couldn’t find it.

hispool.jpg

Anyway, enough of me nerding out. It was really beautiful and if you get the chance the go, I highly recommend it.

As the tour guide put it, the spirit of Key West just seems to heavily inspire writers. I can’t confirm if this is true or not, but who knows? =)

Thanks for reading!

~Ames

Author:

Hi, I'm Ames! Welcome to my blog. About me Female Favorite foods: Apples, fried chicken and grilled cheese sandwiches. Hobbies: Traveling, reading, learning languages, writing and cooking. Favorite TV show: Big Bang theory. Hopes for this blog: People I don't personally know read my blog.

Leave a Reply

