Posted in ideas, writing

Nanowrimo

It’s coming! Like Winter!

For those of you who don’t know what NaNoWriMo is, it’s National Novel Writing month. Where you pledge to write 50,000 words in the month of November, or about 1660 words a day.

Which is a lot of words D:

I’ve wanted to do this for a long time, but I sadly have a job where I work over 80 hours a week (and sometimes closer to 100) and usually average around 20,000 words a month, if I’n lucky. I tried telling my boss I’d have to work less hours so I can write more, but that didn’t really fly with them.

And since I can’t sacrifice anymore hours of sleep without loosing any sanity, I will not be able to precipitate this year.

However, I do know that some day, there will be a time where I will have a more flexible schedule and will be able to tackle this monster of a project. I find it kinda interesting. You don’t revise or edit along the way (which is something I’m bad about doing. Even in the middle of my first draft.)

You just write! And then once you’ve hit your word count at the end of the month, you sit back, sigh a big sigh of relief, take a little break and then start working on editing your little monster.

Because let’s be real, it’s going to be a huge mess after all that free writing.

So yeah. While I’m not doing it, I’d love to know if anyone else is, or if you’ve done it before. Let me know and have a good day =)

~Ames

Author:

Hi, I'm Ames! Welcome to my blog. About me Female Favorite foods: Apples, fried chicken and grilled cheese sandwiches. Hobbies: Traveling, reading, learning languages, writing and cooking. Favorite TV show: Big Bang theory. Hopes for this blog: People I don't personally know read my blog.

Leave a Reply

