Posted in info, Reading

Review of Three Dark Crowns.

My apologies that I haven’t posted in months. I’ve had some very serious health problems that have been commanding my attention.  While I’m going to try to come back for an occasional blog post, it’s not going to be like I used to.

Anyway, review for the book “Three Dark Crowns” By Kendare Blake. I saw this book at B&N and decided to give it a read.

So, here’s the story.  Every generation, on the Island of Fennbirn, a set of Princess triplets are born, and all have an equal claim to the crown. Each one has a power as well, one can control the elements, one can ingest poisons and one have plant-like abilities. But since only one can be Queen, the night that they turn sixteen, they have a deadly game and last one standing wins.

Sounds pretty interesting right? But for some reason, the author decided to stretch this into two books. This is honestly a one book idea, someone (her or the publishing house) said we need to make this longer! And that’s really what hurts it.

In the beginning, we’re introduced to the three sisters. They have been separated for the past decade, they’re training. It’s very soon to their 16th birthday. I was really excited, I wanted to see how triplets would react to being forced to try and kill each other.

But instead of getting to that interesting, the book goes into chapter after chapter after chapter of just sitting around and talking scenes, or worse, romantic scenes. I don’t care about which sister ends up with random hot guy or childhood hot guy friend! Honestly, if I was in that world, I wouldn’t even try to date one until she’s actually queen. Don’t fall in love with someone who could die soon!

The other big problem I had with this book is it’s very minor character heavy. Each girl is separated from her sisters, so they all have their own cast of side characters. The problem is, they’re all very flat and there’s so little to distinguish them from others. At some points, it’s like white noise because I have no idea who the heck these people are.

It’s not that I can’t handle complex books, I’ve read A Song of Ice and Fire (The book series that Game Of Thrones is based off) and those books are extremely complex. But the characters there are memorable, here, most are one dimensional and dull.

Another problem the book has is the characters had weird names, like Arsinoe. I had to look that up to make sure I spelled correctly and I’m not even sure if I’m pronouncing it right. Remember the K.I.S.S rule, keep it simple, stupid.

To be fair, the last 10% of the book is a bit interesting and it leaves on a twist cliffhanger for the next book, but I honestly don’t think I’ll read it. I’d bet money it’s not going to be about one killing the other two, it will be about the three of them banding together to decide that this is barbaric and stopping this whole killing game thing.

My advice, read another fantasy book. I get that she was trying really hard to make a dark, high-fantasy romp, but there’s too many problems here. 3/10 stars.

~Ames

Author:

Hi, I'm Ames! Welcome to my blog. About me Female Favorite foods: Apples, fried chicken and grilled cheese sandwiches. Hobbies: Traveling, reading, learning languages, writing and cooking. Favorite TV show: Big Bang theory. Hopes for this blog: People I don't personally know read my blog.

Leave a Reply

