Posted in info, Reading

Book reviews.

If you’ve read through some of my posts, you might of noticed a theme. And that’s while I do a lot of book reviews, I tear most of them  apart. Or at least have long rants about them. This could make some people believe that I don’t like books or enjoy reading.

And that isn’t true at all!

When I was in school, I was the kid who got her books taken away. The one that teachers would notice I was reading, and tell me not to bring books into the classroom anymore. While I had a difficult time learning to read, I more then made up for it and I read almost every night before going to bed.

In short, I love books. I love being teleported away, and getting lost in a good story. I collect both paperback and my kindle has over 200 books on it. I hope one day to own a house with it’s own private library. That would make me incredibly happy.

The thing is, I dislike cliches. And I hate seeing the same crap over and over and over in books.

Example, I read The Hunger Games when it first came out. I wasn’t one of those who read it before it got popular, I didn’t start hearing about it until the second book was about to be released, but I read it. And devoured the 2nd and the 3rd one in the series.

And I enjoyed it. I loved the dystopian setting, the brutal nature of the games and the love triangle. I honestly thought she would pick Gale (And still a bit miffed by that ending! But that’s another story).

But by now, that setting has been done to death. The world destroyed, a terrible government has taken over and a love triangle. Who know! Who will she choose????????????

The horse is long dead, please stop beating it. Try something new!

That’s mostly why I pick novels apart and am harsh. I don’t want to guess what’s going to happen in the first few chapters. I want surprise and twists and turns, not the same old, same old. If I ever became an agent for novels, I would be the one who makes people cry.

But I’m still hoping to find new and original work that I enjoy.

Thanks for reading!

~Ames

Author:

Hi, I'm Ames! Welcome to my blog. About me Female Favorite foods: Apples, fried chicken and grilled cheese sandwiches. Hobbies: Traveling, reading, learning languages, writing and cooking. Favorite TV show: Big Bang theory. Hopes for this blog: People I don't personally know read my blog.

Leave a Reply

